JOURNAL RECORD: Honorees selected for Health Care Heroes event

By Journal Record Staff | March 23 | See full article here

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Journal Record will host the 2nd Annual Health Care Heroes award program on May 21 at 4 p.m. This virtual event will honor individuals who have gone above and beyond to help make Oklahoma a healthier, safer and happier place to live and work.

Nominations were accepted from Dec. 1, 2020 to Feb. 28, 2021.

Honorees were selected in eight categories:

  1. First Responder: Honors individuals such as members of the military, emergency medical technicians, paramedics, firefighters and police for their professional achievement and community involvement in their line of duty.
  2. Nurse: Honors individuals from the nursing field whose performance is considered exemplary by patients and doctors and provides a model of professionalism to peers.
  3. Physician: Honors doctors who work to discover new medicine or practices that can save lives or improve the quality of life for a large number of people. These honorees also are involved in community organizations and outreach programs that focus on improving the community’s health.
  4. Professional: Honors health care workers other than doctors and nurses. Examples include administrators, researchers, technicians and professors.
  5. Volunteer and Volunteer Group: Honors nonpayroll individuals and groups who reach out with time or skills to help patients or health care providers.
  6. Health Care Innovation: Honors innovative projects implemented in Oklahoma in 2020 that have improved the health of Oklahomans.
  7. Animal Care: Honors individuals who care for animals, including house pets or livestock. They are recognized for their professional achievement and community involvement.
  8. COVID Champion: Honors individuals whose performance over the past year during the pandemic has exemplified their caring service and commitment to the health care field. These are the front-line workers in the battle against this deadly virus.


The 2021 honorees are:

• Animal Care, Dr. Rod Hall, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry.

• Animal Care, Kim Schlittler, Best Friends of Pets.

• COVID Champion, Sean Simpson, Broken Arrow Seniors.

• COVID Champion, Joel Guthridge, Ph.D., Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation.

• COVID Champion, Dale Bratzler, DO, MPH, MACOI, FIDSA, OU Health.

• COVID Champion, Jayne Van Bramer, Oakwood Springs Hospital.

• COVID Champion, LaWanna Halstead, RN, MPH, Oklahoma Hospital Association.

• COVID Champion, Adel Ghuloom, Oklahoma Heart Institute.

• COVID Champion, Tanya Cain, Indian Health Care Resource Center of Tulsa.

• COVID Champion, Courtney Hammond, Concordia Life Plan Community.

• COVID Champion, Betty Beck, DRH Health (Duncan Regional Hospital).

• COVID Champion, Tammy Powell, SSM Health St. Anthony Hospital.

• COVID Champion, Marissa Flores, Oklahoma City-County Health Department.

• COVID Champion, Dwight T. Sublett, M.D., Oklahoma Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics.

• First Responder, Richard A. Kernes, Emergency Management Training Associates.

• First Responder, Joshua McMasters, AMR.

• Health Care Innovation, Heather Love, Comanche County Memorial Hospital.

• Health Care Innovation, MaxQ Research (Team), MaxQ Research.

• Nurse, Anna Jacoby, OU Medical Center – Oklahoma Children’s Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Unit.

• Nurse, Jessica Collett, St. Anthony.

• Nurse, Judy Farrar, Oklahoma ER & Hospital.

• Physician, Dr. Charles Hollen, M.D., Ph.D., GenesisCare.

• Physician, Douglas Drevets, M.D., OU Health.

• Physician, Luz Tono, Integris Baptist and SSM/St. Anthony.

• Physician, Daniel Molina, M.D., Chickasaw Nation Department of Health.

• Physician, Ronald Sutor, M.D., Integris Cardiovascular Physician.

• Physician, Andrea R. Scott, D.O., Infectious Disease Consultants of Oklahoma City.

• Physician, Dr. Noor Jihan Abdul-Haqq, Peace of Mind Pediatrics.

• Physician, Cate Hildebrand, M.D., OB/GYN Specialists of Tulsa Inc.

• Physician, Jasmine Gaddy, M.D., Indian Health Service.

• Professional, Patti Davis, Oklahoma Hospital Association.

• Professional , Ann Newberry, Restore Counseling OKC.

• Professional, Lorri Essary, M.Ed., Oklahoma City-County Health Department.

• Professional, Tonia Lowrey, MPH, CPH, Oklahoma City-County Health Department.

• Physician, Dr. Patrick McGough, Oklahoma City-County Health Department.

• Professional, Kammie Monarch, RN, OU Health.

• Professional, Alan McDonald, DDS, NSO Low-Cost Dental Clinic.

• Professional, Matthew Ramirez, Oklahoma City Energy FC and SSM Health.

• Professional, Jenny Stewart, Oklahoma Heart Hospital Research Foundation.

• Professional, Brian Banks, Providence Home Care.

• Volunteer, Stephen Scott, U.S. Army.

• Volunteer, Clayton McCook, DVM, Equine Sports Medicine & Surgery/Oklahoma Medical Reserve Corps.